Drawing with software

Nov 2015

A quick visit to a local art shop and I ended up browsing (and then purchasing) a book by Traci Bautista (1). It turned out to be a timely purchase. The book has some great ideas about printmaking and suggestions for developing and combining techniques. However, more important was that it directed me towards some appropriate art software/apps.

I downloaded copies of Photoshop Elements, Photoshop Mix, Procreate and ArtRage and started to experiment. I found that not only did they give me the facility to import and manipulate my own images to create patterns, but that I was also able to produce drawings from scratch.

Undoubtedly, using a tablet to draw takes some getting used to when you are familiar with pencils and paint, but it has advantages. It is possible to create layers and hide or reveal certain parts of a drawing. There is also the “undo” button! There is no problem of damaging the paper of surface with repeated erasing or “heavy” mark-making.

Below is my first attempt at a free-hand drawing. A bit disjoint as I was experimenting to find out as much as I could about the different marks available.

 

 

Next I tried a tonal drawing (below). Done from my imagination, I have made a beginners mistake of drawing the nose too long.

I also found that it was possible to import a picture, add a layer, “trace” over it, then complete the drawing. The photo underneath can be removed (or hidden) afterwards (see below). 

Although I prefer to draw freehand (because only then do you achieve that wonderful feeling of spontaneity), I can see that the technique might be useful as a aid to understanding proportions, for example in portraiture.

 

References:

1. Bautista, T. (2014) Printmaking unleashed – more than 50 techniques for expressive mark making. North Light Books. Blue Ash (OH)

Leave a comment